Friday, December 15, 2006

Cricket World Cup 2007

The biggest cricketing event in the world would be starting soon providing 47 days of World Class Cricket.
To check the match schedule "Click Here"

The 2007 Cricket World Cup will be hosted by the West Indies from March 11 to April 28, 2007. It will be contested by 16 nations divided into 4 groups of 4 teams.

The top two teams from each group will then compete in a "Super 8" format, similar to the previous "Super 6" format, from which the semi-finalists will be decided. There will be fifty one matches, which is less than the 2003 World Cup, despite the two extra teams taking part. The day after each match is a scheduled reserve day, to allow for weather and other interruptions. Jamaica will host the Opening Ceremony on 11 March.

Previous winners:

West Indies - Winner 1975
Final: West Indies v Australia
Venue: Lords, England
Result: West Indies won by 17 Runs
West Indies Total: 291 runs in 60 overs at 8 Wickets
Australia Total: 274 runs in 58.4 overs all out

West Indies - Winner 1979
Final: West Indies v England
Venue: Lords, England
Result: West Indies won by 92 Runs
West Indies Total: 286 runs in 60 overs at 9 Wickets
England Total: 194 runs in 51 overs all out

India - Winner 1983
Final: India v West Indies
Venue: Lords, England
Result: India won by 43 Runs
India Total: 183 runs in 54.4 overs all out
West Indies Total: 140 runs in 52 overs all out

Australia - Winner 1987
Final: Australia v England
Venue: Calcutta, India
Result: Australia won by 7 Runs
Australia Total: 253 runs in 50 overs for 5 Wickets
England Total: 246 runs in 50 overs for 8 Wickets

Pakistan - Winner 1992
: Pakistan v England
Venue: Melbourne, Australia
Result: Pakistan won by 22 Runs
Pakistan Total: 249 runs in 50 overs for 6 Wickets
England Total: 227 runs in 49.2 all out

Sri Lanka - Winner 1996
Final: Sri Lanka v Australia
Venue: Lahore, Pakistan
Result: Sri Lanka won by 7 Wickets
Australia Total: 241 runs in 50 overs for 7 Wickets
Sri Lanka Total: 245 runs in 46.2 overs for 3 Wickets

Australia - Winner 2003
Final: Australia v Pakistan
Venue: Lords, London
Result: Australia won by 8 Wickets
Australia Total: 133 runs in 20.1 overs for 2 wickets
Pakistan Total: 132 All out in 39 Overs


Australia - Winner 1999
Final: Australia v India
Venue: Johannesburg
Result: Australia won by 125 runs
Australia Total: 359 runs in 50 overs for 2 wickets
India Total: 234 All out in 39.2 Overs

World Cup Images:

Click here to read about the websites where you can view World Cup matches

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

vtjclmi could not find a free source for cricket streaming rather found
Live cricket score and commentary and successfully enjoyed the score and audio but will love to watch it online